JUNE 26, 2013:
Hello everyone. Sorry that I've been away. So Brady was a stinker and on Monday threw a tantrum so he did not get to have the upper GI done (that small intestinal study with more dye, to check for any leaks). He still hasn't pooped. :( I know that without eating anything I can only imagine that it's probably hard to make something out of nothing but fluids.
He has been swinging all over the place with vent settings as the fluid on his lungs isn't playing so nicely from his PDA. I have tried calling the hospital a couple times, at inopportune times and so I will try again to see about the ultrasound's results on whether or not the mass has shrunk, stayed the same, or is larger...
The biggest and most frustrating change for me lately has been the fact that we are now in isolation. Another baby that was moved from our room a little bit ago, came back positive for VRE (though he was showing no signs)... well even though that baby was moved before he came back positive, our whole room is in isolation. We now get ugly yellow gowns, and have to wear gloves as well as scrubbing down before leaving, and some other things. No more skin to skin contact with my baby.
When will this small version of hell end you ask??? Not until every baby is discharged, or moved into rooms. Which means for as long as Brady is in the hospital we can't touch him unless we are wearing gloves like the nurses. I won't lie and say I'm pleased. Even though I do understand the safety precautions and everything are good for my son. I'm sad that I won't be able to hold him like a normal baby. Instead I've got ugly gown in the way, and can't even touch his little hand without that disgusting rubber in the way.... Can't wait for him to be home, so that I can be able to have all those small little delights.
I was able to change his diaper, take his temperature, and move one of his probes the other day. That was pretty cool. I'm getting better at all this stuff. He did get to meet his Great Grandma Maughan, she was raving about how cute he is, and how he's a keeper. :) So I guess he's approved. He is so stinking cute, I can't believe how big he is getting.
If you have any questions, please leave a comment and I'll answer everything to the best of my ability. We are having a care conference tomorrow so I will understand things a bit better I'm supposing. Thanks to all of you reading, and once again I am sorry for the delay in updates.
No comments:
Post a Comment